In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this new development?

Previously, people who desired to obtain a university level of education, usually remained near where they grew up and near their family. In the last few years, relocating to a different country for study has become more approachable. This essay will focus on both the advantages and disadvantages of this new phenomenon. On the one hand, the benefits of attending university abroad could be expanding your views of the world, learning or consolidating your knowledge of a foreign language and experiencing different study methods. In regards to world views, I think it's important to travel and meet new people while you are young, and as far as I know there isn't a better way to achieve this than to enrol in another place. Furthermore, speaking fluently something other than your mother tongue could be fundamental to establish your career. Last but not least, a person could be better suited to learn things using different ways compared to the ones in their own country. On the other hand, there could also be negative effects of going down this path. For instance, you could feel alone and overwhelmed living in a new place without your support from your family and friends. Moreover, this problem might also affect the quality of your grades obtained by frequenting classes there, especially if you still struggle a little with the language. In addition to this, sometimes people are just not inclined to move and make a life in a new country. All in all, I would say that while there are both pros and cons of studying abroad, it just comes down to a personal preference.