More and more companies are allowing employees to work at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the development of science and technology, there is an increasing trend of working at home other than going to work place. This phenomenon leads to a serious of discussion of whether can employers and benefit from this. In my opinion, working at home instead of going to work place is in the best interest employers. A convincing argument can be made that it can generate more profit for employers. To start with, working at home can save employers many working related experiences. For instance, since employees are working at home, employers have no need to provide them with parking place for their car, stationary for their daily use and some other necessities, such as lighting, water and toilet. Therefore, employers can save a lot of expenditure. Moreover, working at home can improve employees' productivity as well as efficiency. Specifically speaking, people whose job have been to design website usually require a comfortable and creative working environment. It may be difficult for the company to provide such an environment due to the fact that every individual has its unique requirement. Thus, it is more rational for employees to work at their own home so that they can work in their ideal environment. Only in this way, can they provide more extraordinary ideas and create a fantastic website. In addition, it has been long proven that individual would spend more time on their job if they work at home. That is to say, employees could apparently avoid wasting time on waiting for the bus, as well as, they could avoid traffic congestion, which would be likely to happen in the rush hour. Hence, it would, in fact benefit of the employers. Admittedly, working at home may sometimes bring problems for senior managers to control the company's business. The reason for this is that, working in an office, employees should report basically everything they do to their supervisor. And then their supervisor will report their performance to the senior managers so that they can evaluate how is their business and whether is the organisation functioning. However, with everyone working at home, it would be impossible for senior managers make such an evaluation. This in turn will largely discourage employees' motivation since their boss does not have an idea of their performance. This seems to be a crucial issue at the first sight; however, this issue can be easily addressed through computer science and technology. Also, people should not overlook the fact that the more supervision in the office the less freedom employees would get. The lack of freedom during work would discourage employees as well. To sum up, personally I believe that employers can get more benefit if they allow employees to work at their own home. It can provide employees a comfortable working environment, reduce the time workers wasted on the road and also improve their work productivity in a general sense.