It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent. Discuss both views

It is generally thought, in some countries, that death penalty is the best way to convince people not to commit crimes. Others believe that a long life sentence is a better way. In this essay I will discuss this topic, taking into account advantages and disadvantages from both points of view. Regarding the first view, we could say that there isn't nothing worse than death. So with what courage would anyone commit a crime, in a country where capital punishment is legal? On the base of this logical reasoning, in this way infractions could be reduced to almost zero. However, we can see that in most cases this is not true. In fact, despite this belief, studies reveal the opposite. For example, there is capital punishment in some of the USA States, but in these places the crime rate is not less than that of other cities or countries where the death penalty is not allowed. Contrariwise, according to the studies conducted on this topic, a long life sentence seems to be a much better deterrent. From a certain point of view, spend all of our remaining life in prison can be worse than an immediate death. In conclusion, I believe that capital punishment is absolutely not necessary to reduce crime rate, but I think that the most important thing about this topic is that we don't have any right to kill another human being, whatever the crime he has committed. None of us can have a greater right over a person's life.