Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is true that homework is an essential part of education for school children. Many parents and teachers insist that students should be given some tasks that they should complete at home because it enables them internalize the concepts they learned at school. However, others completely oppose this view and claim that homework puts students under pressure. Even though it brings some disadvantages, such activities are often considered to be advantageous due to various reasons. The main benefit of homework is that it encourages independent learning and problem solving, as children are challenged to work through tasks alone and at their own pace. In doing so, students must apply knowledge that they have learnt in the classroom. This in turn develops their cognitive skills. Also, it will cultivate a regular study habit in them considerably. To make it clear, pupils are forced to learn lessons, whatever they studied in their classroom every day and they never forget such things in the long run. Moreover, they can achieve higher score or grade in their examinations For example, by doing mathematics exercises at home, students consolidate their understanding of the concepts taught by their teacher at school. On the other hand, giving too much homework can be counterproductive. When children are not given additional work, they would have more free time and can inculcate sports in their daily routine. This can help them to improve their health and physical fitness and encourage all round development. Additionally, most students spend lots of time in the classroom. They are already tired by the time they reach home and lack motivation to complete their homework. When children are forced to do homework, they are less likely to focus on what they are doing. This practice will not benefit them in any way. To conclude, abolishing homework is not the solution. Instead of taking such drastic measures, In my opinion, teachers should just reduce the amount of homework they give.