Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

Current concerns on the low proportion of science course enrolment alerts the governments worldwide. The data has proved that teenagers rather choose business concentrations or creativity industries than science. There are several reasons behind this issue, and they put adverse impacts on societies. A variety of reasons can be put forward to elaborate why fewer students have interests in careers which relate to science. One of the most preponderant ones is that these subjects are often difficult and demanding. In that sense, it required students to put much effort into their study, which results in a monotonous life. For example, if a student chooses to become a chemist engineer, he has to conduct too many experiments and complete numerous projects, which prevented him from having any free time. On the other hand, pursuing an art or business degree allows students to study at their own pace, and use their time for travelling or family. Apart from this reason, science related jobs are fewer than other industries. Therefore, even some students are passionate about science, they also give up on it to select their major in other industries. Since young workforce will mainly drive future of a country, their career choice will directly decide the development of the economy and technology. Then, shortage in any industries will lead to imbalance, and there is no exception in this case. During the next twenty years, when the Generations X retires, there will be no replacement sources for these positions. Less science graduates also means fewer technological developments, which then prevent improvements in people’s life quality. In early twenty first century, the breakthrough of smart phone technology is the most impressive milestone. It is believed to happen because Generation X and Millennials were encouraged to study about science. Nowadays, it is hard to predict how science will thrive when Generation Z are more likely to choose Art and Business courses. In conclusion, the decrease in science subject enrolment's had happened for many reasons, and it is mainly because of the difficulties of the unit and low career opportunities. This trend will impact on society and technology evolution in the next fifty years.