Nowadays there is a wide range of TV programs. But instead of watching educational programs, news or documentary films, more and more people prefer to watch TV shows, soap operas or serials. And this negatively affects knowledge acquisition skills. What are the primary causes of this tendency? How is it possible to make educational TV programs more popular?

People have numerous choices of television programs nowadays, and popularity of entertaining shows is on the rise and informative programs are being less preferred. This is creating a negative effect to acquire necessary information. It is due to the fact that people prefer to get relaxed by staying indoors by watching entertaining programs, which can be countered by making educational programs more interesting too. The main reason of people preferring recreational television programs over the informative shows is that they want to get entertained by staying indoors. This is due the fact that dramas and serials are an easy source of entertainment after a busy day at work rather than watching a boring documentary. Adding further, watching movies and songs are considered to be the only source of entertainment as outdoor activities are getting less popular. For instance, in a recent survey published in The Times showed that 80% of residents in New York prefer to watch a movie in the evening rather than playing a sport. Thus, people get easy indoor enjoyment from watching the entertaining shows rather than viewing less interesting educational documentary. Popularity of educational programs can be increased by bringing more innovation and making them more interesting for the viewers. In other words, the method of delivering the information on these shows should generate more interest for the viewers. For instance. Documentaries of the National Geographic channel have gained tremendous popularity by bringing much more real and thrilling videos of animals and historical places across the globe. Moreover, informative talk shows should be given prime times of telecast to attract more viewers rather than running entertaining shows during these peak hours all the time. In conclusion, entertaining shows provide easy indoor recreation to viewers, but educational programs can become popular by bringing more innovation in them.