For centuries important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing, and math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skills should be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Over the years, many people considered learning to read, being able to write and having knowledge of solving mathematical problems as the foundations of education, however, some people believe that learning to use a computer should be added to the said list. In my opinion, I strongly agree that it would be very beneficial for all to include computer skills in the framework of our education. Firstly, this essay will discuss that with the advancement of our technology, it is inevitable that everyone should learn how to use a computer. Secondly, it will discuss the fact that almost all jobs nowadays involve the use of technology. On the one hand, computers have become a huge part of our everyday life as almost everything can be done with just one click of a button. Having skills in computing can help a student to navigate the Internet and that aids them in researching answers for their homework. Computers can replace thousands of books and this eases the burden of bringing a lot of books to school. For example, in the past, if you needed school supplies, you would go to a supermarket or a department store, but now, just by using your computer or cell phone you may opt to go shopping online in the convenience of your home, by just using apps like LAZADA and OLX. On the other hand, almost every job needs a computer in one way or another in order to complete everyday tasks. Therefore, knowing how to use a computer or tablet is a basic skill that most workplaces will require their employees to have. Computers are also used to perform groundbreaking services in some workplaces, like hospitals and private clinics. For instance, doctors use this technology so that they can perform surgeries and get accurate results. LASIX technology has helped thousands of people to bring their vision back to normal, this would be near to impossible without the use of highly advanced computer programs. In conclusion, adding computer skills in our education system is vital towards the road of advancement in technology. I strongly agree that learning skills like this will benefit not only the individual, but also the progress of any country.