In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

It is important to consider how the count of old age people moving to live in old age homes with other elderly people has increased substantially. In some cases, the government reimburses the expenses of such people. However, I believe it is the wholesome duty of the family members to pay for the care provided to them. Some people argue that the old age homes, developed for taking care of elderly people should be government funded because they are the citizens of a country and have served for it for so many years and hence, they should support them in their later age. Moreover, people have paid taxes to the government throughout their life and thus, it is their due responsibility towards them. On the contrary, I support the view that family is ought to be looked upon when their parents turn old and need support financially. Parents are the one's who have helped their children in development whether it be personal or professional. Furthermore, they are the one who have also supported them financially in their school and college studies and provided all the leisures to them so that they can lead a happy, healthy and stress free life. Finally, when it comes to children, they should not step back in paying for the nurses who can take good care of the parents in old age homes. In conclusion, although government should help in providing nominal cost of stay and nurses in old age homes, family members should be liable to pay for the expenses involved in taking care of the elderly people.