More and more companies are allowing employees to work from home . Do you think this is a positive or negative development.

Technological advancement has led to a decline in the use of physical structures where people present themselves daily for work. I am strongly of the opinion that this reduction is a good progress. Owning to the fact that the time workers use in commuting has been scrapped completely, workers are compelled to develop in the area of Information technology skills and project deliverables are achieved in lesser time. Firstly, one major improvement working from home has caused is the best use of time used in commuting. Time spent moving from home to the office is saved and is used in achieving proper work goals and objectives. The number of hours spent on the road is almost the same as the number of hours required to spend at work for workers in the very busy cities like Lagos. For example, people who work on the mainland spend an average of 6-8hours to and fro office every day. This valuable time is put into performing key tasks when working from home, also, energy is preserved and they have more zeal to give the best to their jobs. In addition to valuable time, employees are compelled to develop themselves in the use of Information technology (IT) packages. Working from home would entail sending vital details of work back and forth via the internet, therefore the need for workers to get acquainted with software that would enable them work effectively. Specific software skill development has increased over time as a result of this development. Lastly, project deliverables are now completed on time. Since it faster and efficient to work at home, project deliverables are achieved in the least possible time with minimal mistakes. An estimator who works at his comfort gets accurate measurements from plan and comes up with a near accurate bill of quantities than his colleague who still have to get to the office to work, having been worn out from the hustle of arriving at his place of work. In conclusion, I believe that this arrangement has helped many organizations as there are now better ways of doing jobs. Although it is argued that working at home tends to make one lazy, but with discipline one can overcome this attitude and achieve more.