The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of society where such products are sold. Do you agree or disagree?

In this era, advertising plays a great role in various business sectors, primarily in selling different items. However, by analysing the most sold goods, can be understood that advertisements do not really meet the actual demands of society. This essay can only partly agree with this idea, due to different aspects of this trend, such as psychological affection, the popularity of unhealthy goods and the real needs of individuals. To start, psychology has a huge impact on our lives, particularly, on our thoughts, ideas and choices. It is very easy to convince a person that something which he or she does not really need is necessary. This is how advertisements work, experts show only the pros, but never the cons. Moreover, when the popular appears in these videos, for example, it makes the item gain popularity in a short period of time. For instance, while participating in Super Bowl 2023, Rihanna was seen using one of her products by Fenty Beauty while transitioning between songs for 3-4 seconds, as a result, the sales for this blush increased by 67.21%. Second, people love not only healthy things but also unhealthy ones. Advertisers are not really interested in how their products will affect buyers' health, so they advertise everything because many people still prefer to buy this item. For instance, this can be said about fast food. In other words, KFC has a massive amount of branches all over the world, particularly KFC Turkey branches spent more than 880.000 dollars per month on advertisements. On the other hand, the actual needs of individuals may differ. Obviously, we all have different preferences on which our choices depend. Therefore, if a person is not interested in any item, he or she will not buy it. Furthermore, algorithms of advertising function based on this conception. As follows: if someone needs to find language courses, that person will not choose a driving course instead. Many find advertisements really helpful, particularly, this can be understood by recent interviews on a local channel, namely Leverkusen TV, which indicates that 88.2% of interviewers are satisfied with advertisements and find them helpful. To conclude, advertisements may have a different impact on society and they partly demonstrate the basic needs of society, while having both advantages and disadvantages, such as psychological affection, unhealthy choices and different needs of individuals.