A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As we evolve, some values become inferior to others. Nowadays, it might seem like an individual’s worth is judged by the social status and material possessions owned by that person, but it is not always true. The society and the people we interact with in our daily life are changing, whenever one gets rich or have the power to buy expensive goods and services, then they start taking control of certain things. This might be because of the influence of the celebrity behaviour towards an individual. They wish to act or live their life, but end up losing friends or involve in certain drug/alcohol activity which harm them and makes them negligible in the neighbourhood. Furthermore, with power and money one can buy expensive things, but cannot compare/buy trust, friendship or honour. Nevertheless, I do believe that in our daily life people still believe in values such as honour, respect and kindness because this is what defines them or makes them different from each other. When we are growing up, we are taught to become better citizens of the nation and protect our communities from any harm. Moreover, we still form relationship, business partnerships, and romances on the basis of trust and when this trust is revoked, we end the relationship without event thinking about it twice. In conclusion, I think that status and possessions have become the norms of the society on which an individual worth is measured, but a fair amount of people does believe in the old- fashioned conscience.