In recent years, people have paid attention to preserving both the culture and environment of the places they visit. However, others think it is impossible to be a responsible tourist. To what extend, do you agree or disagree with this point?

Some individuals believe that being a responsible visitor is hard to achieve, although human beings have shown positive changes in their attitudes towards preserving the culture and environment of the places they travel to. This essay aims to explain why I completely disagree with this idea. Firstly, local organizations managing tourist attractions have implemented strict regulations. For example, Seoul is considered one of the most attractive destination cities in the world. Despite the large number of tourists visiting every year, its historical sites and civilizations remain intact. This success can be attributed to the comprehensive laws enforced by the Seoul authorities, which ensure that tourists follow the rules and contribute to the preservation of the city's culture and tourist sites. Other popular destinations such as Bali or Bangkok have also made improvements by implementing laws to regulate tourists ' behaviour. Secondly, modern-day visitors are more conscious of the importance of preserving both the culture and the places they visit. Education about cultural and indigenous knowledge has made them value cultural heritage more, resulting in a conscious effort to avoid damaging these precious sites. For instance, according to a study conducted by a national newspaper, 90% of travellers admit that they now feel more responsible for actively participating in the protection of the values of the places they are exploring. In conclusion, despite the scepticism surrounding tourists ' responsibility to preserve the culture and environment they visit, I hold the opposing view that travellers' behaviours have changed for the better. It is estimated that if proponents of this optimistic idea remain open-minded, we will not only be able to conserve cultural heritage but also foster the development of the travel industry.