The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Population is increasing day by day, due to which traffic on roads is also increasing. Some people believe that if we can reduce the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping, it will help in reducing the traffic. I disagree with the statement as we cannot have all the people in their houses all the time. The traffic is increased due to the excessive use of private vehicles. Nowadays, there are more number of cars on the roads as compared to the people it can carry. People want to travel in their private vehicle as it is easy to reach to their destination. People travelling to same office building prefer to come in separate cars. A bus has the capacity of carrying 80 passengers approximately which means a single bus can replace 80 cars on the road. People should use public transport for travelling to offices. We cannot restrict a child in his home and expect that he will get proper education. A student needs to go to school, college in order to get higher studies. We cannot shop for all the resources online like groceries so we need to go to shopping malls in order to buy them. Also, people travel to have a peace of mind after working for more than 8 hours, 5 days a week. To sum up, we cannot control the traffic on roads by limiting the need for travel. Instead of that government should encourage people to use public transport whenever possible. It will not only reduce traffic, but will also help in reducing pollution as less number of vehicles on road lesser will be the air pollution.