Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is a section of society that considers it absolutely necessary to teach students art related subjects at school. On the other hand, some are of the view that art related subjects are frivolous, futile and unproductive. So, instead of squandering time on such subjects, time should be spent on other productive subjects so that it could be optimally utilized. Before giving my opinion, I would like to discuss both views. On one hand, there are people who regard art as a redundant subject. Perhaps, such people are of the opinion that by studying art, students would not be able to acquire any practical skill and cannot make a stable career out of it thus rendering it an unrewarding subject. For instance, if someone studies subjects like science, mathematics or computer, these subjects would equip him with the skills required in the job market and he would be able to compete and pursue a successful career by studying aforesaid subjects whereas art may be good for nothing. On the contrary, there are people who believe that it is extremely important to impart art education to students at school. There are various reasons to substantiate this argument. First and foremost is that art plays a vital role in personality development of a student. It helps enhance creativity and hone problem solving skills. There are various research reports published by reputed institutions which corroborate this fact. Moreover, it is a prevalent notion that artists are often not paid well which is not the case. In the modern era, the advancement in technology and explosive growth of the internet has created a plethora of opportunities for digital designers, multimedia artists and animators. Furthermore, students studying diverse subjects can benefit from interdisciplinary studies. They can apply their knowledge from one discipline to solve problems of other subjects, consequently maximizing their learning experience. This has lead me to conclude that art is of paramount significance for a school going child as it helps foster creativity and innovation, creates a diverse learning experience. It can also lead to a successful career. Therefore, significance of art as a subject for school going children cannot be undermined.