Nowadays there is an increase in social problems involving young people because more parents spent time at work than with their children. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days, it is seen that youth crime is increasing at a faster rate than ever before. Some people believe that it is mainly because of the lack of parental supervision of their children. I can only partially agree with this argument because I believe that there are also many other factors which contribute to the increased rate of crime among youngsters. To begin with, inadequate knowledge about ethical behaviour or societal rules is the prime reason for young people to commit a crime. The current economic condition of society pushes both the parents to pursue professional careers to ensure better life prospects and educational facilities for their children. Thus, parents are left with no time to guide their children about the ethical norms of mankind. When left alone, children may spend their time watching TV or surfing the internet. They may also make friends with people outside of their social network. Such friendships can push children into wrongdoing. They may develop bad habits like smoking, drinking or substance abuse. Since parents are absent for most of the day, they remain ignorant of their children’s activities until it is too late. However, the absence of parents is not the only reason for the rise in criminal activity among young people. Youngsters coming from families where one or both parents are present throughout the day also get into crime. They are misled by several factors, including the violence shown on television and movies. Peer pressure is another factor that leads to juveniles astray. Poverty and lack of educational opportunities are all factors that encourage criminal activity among young people. In conclusion, I strongly believe that inadequate parental guidance is only one of the reasons for crime among young people. Exposure to violence, growing consumerism and peer pressure also encourage many juveniles to commit acts that are illegal or unethical.