References from previous employers are important for some employers when making hiring decisions. Why do you think that references are important to employers? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

When a company wants to hire new employees, resumes are needed. In most cases, these application processes also involve references from the applicants' past companies. These references are important to employers because they serve as a more transparent background check. There are important reasons why this background check is a requirement. First of all, contacting the past company of the candidate might give better and more objective testimonies of the candidate's work ethic. It is very common for applicants to sugarcoat their resumes by showcasing the better-looking parts of their experiences while keeping the negative ones in the dark. By asking directly to the person they used to work for in the past, employers will most likely gain more accurate statements. Surely, this will significantly help the hiring process to be more thorough. As an example, let's say there is a person who is applying for a sales position at a new company. He has an outstanding academic history and he states that the reason he left his previous job was due to unforeseen circumstances. Considering how ambiguous that statement is, the employer decides to call his previous manager hoping for a clearer explanation. His manager explains that the applicant was actually fired because of his bad performance. Through this call, the new company finds out that despite the fact that this person understands sales theoretically, his past experiences show that he was not great at putting those ideas into actual work. Thus, they realize that he is actually not suited for their company. To summarize, references from previous employers are crucial in the hiring process. Actual words from people who used to work with the candidate can serve as a key to the decisions, minimizing the chance of the company being blinded by the lies that may have been written in one's resume. Therefore, I believe that everyone who works in the hiring department should pay more attention and background check each candidate.