Some people think that it is better for a country’s economy for people to spend money while others believe that it would be better for people to save money. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Money has been considered as the prime resource in this materialistic world. Some people believe that it should be saved for the future usage in tough times while others assume it is better to increase the consumption for the strong economic growth of the country. I presume the balance of these both views is beneficial to save both the country as a whole or an individual. There is a ground for the belief that the spending is vital for the growth of the nations. The stability of the economy is measured by means of Gross Domestic Product, which is called GDP in short. Consumption is required to increase this factor as increased usage by people increases the demand, which in turn give a rise in production which means higher GDP. For instance, if the demand for the product or the service increases, it is manufacturing increases, which give employment to many which again increases the spending giving rise in demand. This is a full circle and a break in one stage could harm this process and eventually the community. On the contrary, if this spending is fuelled by the credit more than the income, then consumers would be brought under the mountain of the debt. A prime example is the American citizens who are under higher debits owing to their extravagant nature of spending more than earning. Thus, expenditure according to the income is crucial. On the other hand, the value of the thrift is important for both the industry and the individual to fight with the catastrophic situations. Firstly, the corporate saving would save the company in times of the crises when it does not get the loan from the bank. Secondly, if the mass population would deposit money in the bank, then it can be used for a loan to the corporate for capital gains. Thirdly, domestic conservation can save the family at the time of calamities like natural disasters and recession. On the contrast, if more and more folks start savings at the cost of the consumption, the cycle of the demand -supply will be breached which can harm the development of the society. For example, fewer requirements mean less production this causes higher cost which again lessens the demand and finally the industry. Thus, it is imperative for citizens to save enough to cope up with unwanted situations, but not at the limit which affects the GDP. To sum up, saving and spending fulfil the individuals and economy needs. However, too much in both ways will dangerously lead to unnecessary things, so, everyone should know when to spend and save for the sake of the whole. It is just a matter of balancing things in a proper way.