Some people suggest that schools should pay more attention to academic subjects for children because these subjects are useful for their future career. They think that subjects like music and sport are not useful and should be reduced. What is your opinion?

The function of schools is not only to teach students the necessary cultural knowledge, but also to provide prospective talents for the development of the country.Today, we can see that some schools have arranged a large proportion of their curriculum into academic programs. While some people support this approach to help children's future career development, I believe that society needs well-rounded talents, appropriate artistic and sports training, which contributes to the development of individuals and countries. Firstly, music, physical education and other courses are also helpful for future occupational choice. For example, music class can cultivate people's aesthetic ability and stimulate their creativity, which is helpful for engaging in creative industries in the future, such as fashion designer and architect. PE class can also promote physical coordination, which is beneficial to the future outdoor sports coach, police policemen, soldiers and other professions. Moreover, listening to music and doing sports are both activities that children enjoy, which can relax their body and mind and contribute to the better academic study. Studies have shown that continuous and intense learning tends to cause brain fatigue and memory loss. The arrangement of "non-practical" subjects help to reduce fatigue and thus maximize learning efficiency. Lastly, nobody can really predict which areas of knowledge will be most useful to society in the future, and it may be that employers begin to value creative thinking skills above practical or technical skills. If this were the case, perhaps we would need more students of art, history and philosophy than of science or technology. I do appreciate that some people think differently, saying that academic subjects provide more job opportunities, career progression, better salaries, and therefore an improved quality of life for students who take them. Nevertheless, If all the graduates take the same jobs in the forthcoming, it will inevitably bring more problems such as oversupply of some positions and shortage of talents in others. In conclusion, the education system should pay enough attention to the arrangement of courses, and overemphasis on the importance of academic courses will detriment the true purpose of basic education.