Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

After serving their first sentence, a majority of offenders commit more crimes. This is mainly due to the lack of rehabilitation programs and difficulty in finding a job after getting released from prison. There are a number of solutions that can be implemented to effectively stop offenders from committing a crime again. Firstly, the reason behind the increase in crimes by criminals after serving their first sentence is that by staying with other convicts they learn new and better techniques to commit a crime. For instance, they make other criminals as their friends, who can help them to enter the criminal world once they are outside. Due to this, they are never rehabilitated, the primary purpose for which they were sent to prison. Secondly, the problem of repeat crimes by offenders is owing to the nonavailability of chances for all convicts to retrain and learn new skills that can help them get a job outside after they have completed their sentence. There are two effective ways by which this problem of more crimes committed by offenders after serving first imprisonment can be solved. One way is to provide them with a chance to retrain themselves with skills that can help them with employment. By doing this, it will make it easier for them to reintegrate back into the society and also the salary from work will support them financially. Another method to handle this problem is to monitor their activities closely after their release. After realizing that they are under observation, they will not do anything which could send them back to prison. In conclusion, giving training and keeping them under supervision should be effective in solving the problem of criminals committing more crimes. If the government implements these solutions, then it will definitely help in decreasing crime rates.