Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, many parents love to send their children for foreign language training classes from an early age. According to them, It is better for child’s growth that they get a grasp on foreign languages as early as possible. This approach has some benefits to kids and parents, but it’s drawbacks cannot be overlooked. To embark with, the major advantage of introducing a new language early on is that it gives a scope to develop a high level of proficiency in it. Besides this, It adds up to the child’s confidence to communicate in various languages. Also, another advantage of learning additional language is that it enhances the cognitive skills of children. For example, a recent study in Britain declared that a person who have fluency in more than one language, their brain has ability learn different things utmost at half speed than a normal human being, Albert Einstein spoke five different languages from an early age and there is no doubt that he was one of the greatest mind on the earth. However, There are some drawbacks of exposing kids to additional languages than mother tongue from a younger age. Kids might get confused with dialects and they struggle with fluency in their own native language. Moreover, kids nowadays have to deal with a lot of subjects like maths, science, geometry. Adding new responsibility to learn a complete new language might add up to their burden and they might feel depressed. For example, children in Malaysia have to learn two additional languages, Tamil and Chinese along with their native language Malay, It eventually makes them tired. To put this in a nutshell, I believe that even though there are a couple of drawbacks of educating children to be multilingual from the early age, but the benefits outweigh with the inclusion of better communication skills and higher IQ. Parents and teacher needs to ensure that new language does not become burdens on little ones.