Some people believe that universities should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses as rates of obesity are getting higher and higher.To what extent do you agree?

Over the years, obesity has become a matter of concern around the globe. Statistics suggest that over the years, obesity rates have followed an upward trajectory. As a result, there is an ongoing debate as to whether or not sport should be incorporated as a compulsory module on all degree courses. The proponents of this view believe that there is a very strong relationship between sport and obesity. They contest that physical activity and education play a vital role towards keeping a check on obesity rates. In fact, medical research suggests that as we engage in physical exertion through sport, our body is able to burn those extra calories that would have otherwise contributed to weight gain. Moreover, as we engage in sport, our brain releases 'happy' hormones that reduce stress levels and keep us healthy. On the contrary, a second school of thought argues that making sport mandatory is not a holistic solution for stemming obesity rates. Their explanation is based on the fact that there are many other factors that determine an individual's weight. One of them is genes. It is not uncommon to find people who engage in sport on a regular basis, but are still overweight. Furthermore, a person's lifestyle can also contribute towards gaining or losing weight. Consuming fast food, having an irregular sleep schedule, taking more stress than normal, and using particular drugs are some other factors that are directly linked with obesity. Therefore, it is imperative to devise an all-round strategy to counter this issue. In conclusion, I do agree that there are multiple dimensions to look at when it comes to determining an individual's ultimate weight. However, it is reasonable to believe that controlling weight is not an overnight process. It is a long journey that can only be covered by taking small steps, one-by-one. Therefore, regardless of the magnitude of its impact, it is safe to say that inculcating sport education in students would definitely contribute towards reducing obesity rates.