Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Other say that these are not the only reason why some should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

It is believed that learning a new language is solely for the purpose of travelling or working abroad. Meanwhile, others argue that there are various reasons to be bilingual or multilingual. Although I am more in the favour of the latter opinion, the essay will discuss both views. It is obvious that studying foreign languages is beneficial for travelling and working overseas. When people work in a foreign country, they will spend most of their time with natives who are their colleagues, clients or authorities. Therefore, speaking the dialect is essential in order to communicate and handle problems. In terms of travelling, it is more likely for local people would be grateful and willing to offer help if tourists speak the lingo. However, I believe that there are more than on reason for people to learn a new language. Firstly, being bilingual or multilingual opens up social and cultural opportunities for people. Speaking another language allows people to interact with locals and understand the nuances of the country. Thus, they might have more chances to make friends, explore a new culture and integrate better into a new community. For example, thanks to my daily Japanese lessons I had when I lived in Japan a few years ago, not only could I converse with Japanese students, teachers and my host family, but I also attended different activities such as charity events, sport fixtures and culture festivals with them. Through these events, I got to know more about Japanese culture, history and society. Secondly, due to the knowledge about a country gained by speaking a foreign language, bilinguals and multilinguals tend to be more tolerant and more flexible than monolinguals. The more languages people speak, the more open-minded they become because of their awareness and comprehension of differences in colour variations. As a result, they see the world in a new way and are more respectful of other cultures, even their own ones. To conclude, aside from travelling and working, speaking other languages allows people to gain life and personal improvement as wells as new perspectives about the world.