In the interest of road safety, cyclists should be required to pass a test before they are allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some argue that bike riders must successfully pass an examination before allowing them in the street in order to prevent accidents. This essay completely disagrees with this statement because this does not guarantee their safety. On the other hand, putting up a bike lane and enhancing their visibility on the street is a more effective way to ensure their protection. The primary reason why bike lanes are necessary is because they enhance the protection of cyclists. Putting up a lane dedicated only to them decreases the chance of collision with bigger vehicles, such as cars and trucks. If they are mixed with other vehicles, it can lead to debilitating injury or death. For example, in the Philippines, the number of road crashes related to bicycles is alarmingly increasing this is because most vehicles are not able to see them. Thus, putting up roads designated only for them can decrease these incidents. In addition to that, their safety can be achieved by ensuring that they are visible to other road users. This can be done by mandating them to wear proper attire that is reflective of light and setting up lights on their bikes such as in front, back, and sides. This way, other users will be able to see if they will turn right, or left, or if they are using a hazard signal. For example, most bikes in the Philippines do not have any lights and because of this, they are likely to get involved in accidents. In conclusion, requiring bike riders to pass an exam before allowing them on the road is not the most viable solution to protect them. However, lanes that are dedicated only to them and enhancing their visibility on the street is a better way to ensure their safety on public roads.