In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Recently, there has been a gradual transformation in the household structure and the way each member contributes to the family. In this essay, I would like to discuss several possible changes and demonstrate that those changes are beneficial. To begin with, the way a family is organized is far different from that in the past. Firstly, men and women are now sharing the role of breadwinners. A few decades ago, fathers were those who earned money to raise the family, while nurturing progeny was the responsibility shouldered by mothers. Today, as a logical effect of gender equality, professional opportunities are available for people of both sexes, leading to the fact that both men and women should exert effort to make ends meet. Secondly, people now incline to form nuclear families. The escalating competitiveness of the job market accompanying with the higher demands of living standards drives people to work overtime and have fewer children. From my perspective, the aforementioned changes are advantageous. The first benefit is that the financial pressure that parents of medium-sized families have to burden is far less significant than that of large families. This allows them to save money for long term purposes, such as affording a house or sending their children overseas for tertiary education. Another significant advantage is that the children of such busy parents can learn how to live independently and acquire a diverse mixture of qualities at a young age. For example, many youths today have to prepare meals and arrange the study schedules themselves, which helps to sharpen up their self-reliance. In conclusion, I would like to reaffirm my position that the household structure and the role of each family member are altered positively.