Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In order to decrease the number of road accidents, it is believed by some people that severe punishments for offending drivers are the solution. On the other hand, others argue that better methods exist to solve this issue. While both views hold true, I believe that drivers who offend must receive strict punishments. Traffic accidents pose a huge threat to the public, and driving offences must not be taken lightly. If governments implemented strict rules and heavily penalized drivers who broke these rules, individuals would take driving seriously and the number of road accidents would diminish. For instance, speaking on the phone or texting are some of the main reasons for traffic accidents, yet many countries do not impose serious punishments on drivers who commit these acts, specifically in developing countries. Additionally, there are numerous other methods to cut down on the number of road offences. For instance, installing more cameras and setting speed limits in crowded places are some of the most important measures that can be taken to reduce accidents. Furthermore, in some developing countries where the number of traffic accidents is the highest, governments should ensure that only worthy individuals receive a driving license. In other words, due to the corruption in some countries, many individuals who do not know how to drive properly get their driving license, thus, causing traffic accidents and threatening the safety of citizens. To conclude, the issue of ensuring road safety is vital for all countries, due to that, multiple steps must be taken. The most important step is imposing strict punishments for driving offences so that drivers would be more careful. Moreover, punishing untrustworthy drivers as well as adding cameras and speed limits are some of the other methods that would decrease traffic problems.