The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage children to read more ?

The past hundred of years, books is considered to be the ultimate source of knowledge. In recent times, it has been observed that children are favouring other sources of leisure than reading books. This essay will shed some light on the reasons for this behaviour, ranging from the significant involvement in video games and online media, like movies and television series. Also, provide some solutions to motivate them on reading books by parents. Observing the technological advancement, video games and computers with internet, have reduced its cost significantly. Due to this, it is available to a large public. Young generation prefer to spend their free time after school with playing video games or watching movies on platforms like Netflix. Because of these substitutes, the habit of reading has perished. My neighbour's son usually suggests me to watch certain movies or exchange Video game disks, however, I have never noticed him talking about books. Due to these factors, it is believed that books are not the priority for children for fun. However, the habits of games and movies presented above could be altered. Parents should introduce their children to books similar to the movies they cherish. Children like to be awarded for task achievements in the form of presents. Parents should ask them to read and summarize stories and intern provide them with things they cherish. This would in start motivate them and slowly introduce the habit of reading in their leisure time. To conclude, access of video games and online media entertainment has left no time for children to read books for fun, however, associating books with movies or characters from their cartoon, luring them to read in return for presents. Parents at home can encourage them by the proposed solutions to start the habit of reading.