More and more people are choosing to consume ready to eat food rather than cooking the food themselves. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Recently, it has been observed that numerous people across the world, especially in the urban areas where people are living sedentary lives are dependent on the ready made eatables. Although, it saves some hours, but there are many cons of this food as well. In this essay, I intend to delve into the advantages and disadvantages of the ready made products. First of all, in the metros where both husband and wife are working, it becomes difficult for them to find the time for vegetable preparation as they have to get the kids off the bed and make them ready for the school and then they have to get ready for the office, as most offices generally start as early as 8:00 AM leaving with them no time for eatables preparation. Hence, Ready to eat food aids them in many ways, as it is ready to cook and takes only few minutes to get ready. Secondly, it takes away the gender stereotype as it is very easy to cook. Then, it also, solve the problems of storage as these eatables normally have a long shelf life. Another benefit of ready to eat food is spending quality time with the family members in today's fast-paced life which otherwise got wasted in cooking. However, there are many disadvantages of the packaged products, as these come with a long shelf life, hence it contains many preservatives, which is not good for health. Secondly, people are deprived of the fresh food which is very essential for human body, as packaged items have cooked and packaged a long ago. Then, there is a risk of deadly disease like cancer as most packaged products are wrapped either in a plastic or foil which are considered dangerous for health. Finally, it increases the monthly budget, as most ready made foods are costly as compared to the own cooked food. To conclude, although, packaged food comes out to be a handy option for the people in urban areas where both husband and wife are working in terms of time saving, but the disadvantages are more as compared to the benefits.