In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

In recent years, education is not only bound to academics, but it has also encouraged children to learn more skills which prepare them for the world of work. In my opinion, it is the need of the hour as learning new skills at initial stage of teaching would certainly be helpful for achieving better jobs. Schools can play a pivotal role to prepare students by making skill development classes mandatory for all students and by including several practical classes in the curriculum. Schools should make skill enhancement courses compulsory for all children, which motivates them to indulge in such activities apart from academics like learning new languages etc., henceforth it also discourages parents to force their kids to focus only on academics. In India, mostly in urban cities, schools have already implemented this new form of education and which is clearly showing the positive impact in India’s education system. Secondly, not only theoretical, but practical approach will also be required to improve the skill set amongst children. For example, if a child is learning music by listening to various musical notes and grammars, but not practicing the same, then he will not become a musician as he does not know how to play that particular instrument or sing a song, similarly, if we want our children to develop cricketing skills then it is very much essential to make them practice cricket regularly to prowess that expertise. In conclusion, schools should require inculcation of practical skills development methodology in their syllabus to make the children ready for the world and future challenges.