Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

In recent times, people tend to move from one country to another on various issues like education, immigration and for business purposes. Dwelling in a society whose language is quite different from our indigenous dialect could result to social unrest as well as pragmatic issues due to certain reasons; The Crux of this paper will be centred on some of these problems On the one hand, one of the challenges this can lead to is discrimination. The foreigner will find it difficult to communicate with the locals likewise the citizens of that country and this could lead to discrimination. The foreigner will be pushed to segregate him/herself from the other members of the country who are citizens. Children could also be driven to the point of being insecure. This can cause them to see themselves as weird as compared to other children.An illustration of this, is the recent Canada Express entry program which allows individuals from another country, with different mother tongue to relocate to Canada and integrate with its citizens. Research has it that most of these newcomers find it hard to settle in well, as language proves to be a great challenge. On the other hand, this social problem has been mitigated to its lowest minimum considering the advancement in technology. Now new individuals in a country can find their way around the country with the help of Google map on their mobile phones. Again, the online translator will also aid them to communicate efficiently. An example of this is the Google map which can aid one's movement from one place to another anywhere in the world. To sum up, there are social and practical challenges associated with immigrating to a country as it relates to dialect. However, technology advancement has reduced the effect this can have on a person. Although, it is predicted that in 10years to come, people will prefer to make friends with others who are from the same country with them; creating room for racism. Therefore, it is recommended that, the government should make rules that will require one to have knowledge of the basic language of the country intended to relocate to for easy communication.