Most people agree that money cannot be happiness. Why is happiness difficult to define? How can people achieve happiness?

Wealth and joyfulness are paramount in one ’s life. However, there has been a debate among the majority of people that riches do not equate cheerfulness. The reasons why happiness is tough to interpret, and how people could achieve it would be discussed. Firstly, one of the reasons why it is arduous to depict happiness is that it cannot be quantified. In other words, being joyous cannot be measured or numerically attached because it is determined and controlled by one ’s emotion. Another reason why it is hard to define joyfulness is that it is unpredictable. People’s expectation are sometimes not met, and a result of this, people’s reaction or response to this situation makes it difficult to define happiness. For instance, my wife currently works as a class teacher in one of the Nursery Schools with a good salary, but she’s not happy because her expectation was that she would get a job, even if it is with a lesser salary than teaching, as a make-up artist with one of the cosmetology companies. Nevertheless, there are various ways in which people can attain a state of being happy. One of these major ways is self-contentment. Being satisfied with whatever one has, has proven to be effective in gaining happiness. Another way to earn happiness is by doing or following one ’s heart desires. It is believed by some persons that passion birth happiness. That is, one could derive joy from doing something passionately. To illustrate, a research conducted by the World Health Organization in the year 2018 showed that Doctors in the Eastern part of Africa are happy with the nature of their job despite the fact that they are being underpaid. In conclusion, while the major reasons why joyfulness is hard to define is that it cannot be quantified, and it cannot be predictable, self-contentment and following one ’s heart desires are factors people could use to earn a state of being happy.