Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disavantages of doing this?

In many countries, it is widely agreed that drivers should renew their driving licence after five years this one has been granted. This practice may present benefits, but also implies many costs associated with it. What is more, regarding the range of age of the users, in some countries this requirement lowers when people go over their seventies. In my point of view, despite some disadvantages, it is wise to set this requirement in order to keep the accident records low. To start with the advantages, I consider that well-educated drivers derive a lower rate of incidents, taking into account the exponential amount of cars that are actually running on the streets. What is more, the fact of having to pass a strict exam, deters incompetent users from presenting them to set the test without the right forehead preparation. Additionally, many countries apply for their exams international standards, from what the international community benefits as a whole as well, regarding safety issues. For example, the requirement applied in many lands of renewing the driving licence once you are seventy, having additionally the obligation to involve in further medical exams. On the other hand, in many countries, this practice may imply many disadvantages. One of them may be that the licence cards are not digitally organised, so, the cost of printing them every five years is huge and when the materials needed are not available on the market, could reflect in scarcity of permisses. Another con is that many governments may use this practice only to enhance their revenues, rather than focusing on setting high standards for drivers, which has a low impact in terms of vehicular incidents. In conclusion, despite the obligation of renewing driving licences every five years is not a regular worldwide practice and may differ among countries, I consider that setting minimum driving standards and health requirements are a must when applying public policies in order to maintain a minimum of accidents. Therefore, despite some disadvantages described above, from my point of view, laws that promote high-quality standards for getting a driving licence are fully recommended.