Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

At all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, it is seen that too much emphasis is given on learning facts rather than doing practical. Although, theoretical insight is important but if you are not aware of its application, then it is of no use. Some people do agree that learning facts are very beneficial. For example, if I hadn't studied about the Indus Valley civilization in history, then I would never know how civilization evolved in India. For example, how ornaments did come into existence, since earlier in ancient times women wear jewellery made out of animal bones. Likewise, today’s generation will wear expensive jewellery made out of gold and silver to adorn themselves. On the other side, as you see subjective knowledge is not enough. One should have practical skills in order to survive in today’s industry. For example, students who study engineering in computer science need to have knowledge of all the different languages being used in coding. Coding is not about learning the language, but it’s equally important practice. The more you practice the more you excel. To summarise, I would like to say it is important to have to a strong base of all the subjects that you study, but its practical value is equally significant. It has been observed that at all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, more emphasis is being given on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. I totally agree that reading books is not enough for one to excel. In conclusion, I would say that one should have practical knowledge, because practical skills give you a correct idea of what you have studied and how will it be beneficial in the real world.