Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well-educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

People argue that children nowadays are addicted to television, thus neglecting to read books and become less well-educated. Although books are obviously irreplaceable, I partly agree with the statement because children can be benefitted from certain TV education programmes. To begin with, it is undeniable that books play a significant role in human’s life. They provide people with new knowledge, yet give them different insights and perspectives to life. Once people have questions to answer, they go for books. Books are a guide and a companion of human beings. However, besides books, children can learn from other sources, including TV programmes. To be precise, the kids can learn English through English programmes on TV. With a plenty of activities entailed such as singing, phonetics learning and storytelling, not only will children enrich their vocabulary bank, but they also will improve their speaking and listening skills, which could be difficult to master with books only. Furthermore, reading books and watching telly are not comparable since they offer two different styles of learning. While books stimulate children’s imagination and creativity through words, TVs use visual effects to bring the most genuine images to children, helping them visualise what they have read in books better. Additionally, TV programmes can also increase the curiosity of young learners, leading them to look for further details by reading more books and making them more knowledgeable than the past. In summary, although TV cannot replace books in learning, it is unreasonable to blame television for spoiling children. These two approaches are complementary to each other, and they should be used with an appropriate amount of time to give the best education to children.