Nowadays governments are investing more in public transport such as buses and trains rather than in building new roads. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent year, the government spent more money on public transport such as buses and trains rather than on making new motorway. In my opinion, this is a positive development because it is made faster way and safe journey. To begin with, the government invests in buses and trains as they are a very fast way to get somewhere. In other words, mainly trains which cut the distance in a shorter period and make the journey more pleasurable. For example, trains and buses carry so many people at the same time with minimal tickets, this useful for the middle-class people. Moreover, public transport provides a safe journey and less air pollution, which is essential for the environment. In addition, trains have no traffic issues so lack of accidents occurred. For instance, buses stay each and every station, people get an easy way to reach the destination point. In conclusion, the authorities should spend money on public transport as they give more comfort zone, faster and safest way to transport.