In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In many countries, the train is an important mode of transport. While some people feel that the government should provide funds to build new railway lines to connect many cities, other people argue that the money should instead be spent on the improvement of the current public transport. There are valid views on both sides, which I will discuss now. On the one hand, in view of making many parts of the world accessible easily, introducing fast trains and new railway lines is a major step. By investing in this project, the country’s economy will eventually be boosted because of the increased number of tourists arriving. For example, with the advent of ‘Train à Grande Vitesse’ in the late nineties in France, numerous destinations such as Belgium, Germany and the UK became within reach of many people and around 110 million of passengers make use of these trains annually. Moreover, compared to planes, trains are a more convenient form of transport because there are less hassles before boarding. As regards to the cost, it might also be more affordable than airline tickets. On the other hand, investing money to ameliorate the existing public transport could be a smart choice. Nowadays, with advances in technology, there are new buses in some countries with many features such as wifi, air conditioning and a TV. These should be introduced in nations which have not yet received them. Furthermore, in some countries such as in Mauritius, there is a lack of bus coverage in many localities, and this can be a problem for the locals since they will have to take two or three modes of transport before reaching their destination. Therefore, extending the bus coverage could be wise. A further improvement would be to make public transports friendly for individuals with physical disabilities so as to ensure that they do not feel left out. In conclusion, I personally believe that the government can invest in extending railway lines to major cities to boost the economy, but this should be done smoothly and gradually, provided that current public transport is well maintained throughout the country and not left in a bad state.