With an increasing population communicating via internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past. To what extend do you agree?

Online communication has been increasingly popular among societies. While some believe that it would replace the use of direct interaction, this essay disagrees that it would negate the main function of face to face interaction between people as we will discuss here. People need emotional aspects when using language to communicate with each other. We know that it is vital to avoid or at least minimise misunderstanding between them. When people are involved in a conversation through online chat on the internet, it is difficult to identify exactly what an interlocutor might obviously express because they could not recognise any emotional elements expressed through online messaging, whether using high or low tone, statement or question, angry or happy etc. The lack of properly using grammatical rules such as punctuation and conjunction potentially exacerbates the situation. Therefore, it might lead to misunderstanding and misleading between them and (even worse) to a conflict. This can be exemplified by the fact that some people who post any status through Facebook or Twitter might frequently raise various reactions from others due to misinterpretation, particularly when they made grammatical errors. On the other hand, online messaging functions to eradicate distance. It was used to be one of the most problematic factors, especially if people expect to deliver an instant message and its response in the past. In fact, it is the most useful invention of communication tool in this digital era where people can send any messages to others by simply using their mobile phone or computer from any places where the internet is accessible. For example, people could deliver messages to people living in distant area for personal affair or even meeting within a group chat. Despite the many benefits of the internet, it potentially leads those, who prefer to get in touch online rather than eye to eye contact, the lack of getting advantages from real social relation. In conclusion, even though online chat via the internet could not represent real emotional aspects when communicating, it does not mean that it should be avoided because it mainly aims at assisting people to correspond more rapidly, especially if it requires an instant response from people in the distance. However, it by no means that it would replace the main function of person to person interaction.