Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating diseases is too costly, so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree ?

People worldwide is increasingly becoming sick, nowadays. While some individuals argue that experimenting a disease and finding ways to cure is the best solution, others point out that, that can be really expensive and that it is always superior to adopt measures to prevent the disease. This essay will discuss why it is always better to put a stop to the sickness rather than nursing for it. In fact, there can be many backlogs for researching and finding ways to cure an illness. Firstly, it is a never ending process. For example, it is widely known that because of the changes in the way we live currently, new strands of bacteria or virus are forming much faster namely Corona and SARS. Secondly, as it is a continuous process, lots of money has to be pumped in for its operation, which in turn makes it very expensive. Thirdly, as it is about addressing the symptoms of an infection or disease, it could result in lower immunity, due to which people could be prone to more diseases. For instance, research has shown that people who have been on antibiotics for prolonged time have much lesser resistance compared to others. On the other hand, there are a lot of advantages for preventing an illness, before its occurrence. As prevention is about resisting different strains of pathogen from infecting the body, it helps build natural resistance, which in turn develops the overall immunity of the human body. To illustrate, it is a globally accepted fact that someone with a high resistance is less prone to infections. Thus, prevention is an integrated approach. Further, when the nation stays healthy, the authorities would have to spend much lesser for the treatment of various illnesses as well as for the research, that could help save billions of dollars. Hence, the government should focus more on taking measures for preventing diseases rather than on investing in its research and treatment. To conclude, in my view, there are more benefits for the government as well as the society at large, to take preventive measures than treating the sickness after its occurrence. Prevention is the only way forward to help the community, build a healthy society.