Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, with globalisation, people can buy items which were once available only in a small number of countries. In some ways, it can be seen that countries have become increasingly similar. Personally, I think that this is a good development in many respects and I will explain why. Firstly, globalisation has a good impact because it allows people to acquire things which otherwise would have been impossible to buy. Indeed, many countries have progressed due to this. For instance, in Mauritius, cars are imported mainly from Japan and Germany. This has enabled many Mauritians to buy cars, which is an important aspect of a comfortable life. Moreover, these days there are many online websites such as AliExpress and Amazon where practically anything from abroad can be bought, and this gives many e-shoppers a sense of satisfaction since they are able to possess quality products from many important brands of especially western countries. Furthermore, buying from countries abroad eventually means that the population are adopting different modes of living such as the way they dress, the different types of housing structures, among others. It should be noted that these days, even furnitures can be bought from the other end of the world; many companies sell their ready-made kitchen sets outside their country. Thus, dreams of many people are being fulfilled. Additionally, with this facility of buying from other countries without the need to travel is an advantage for many people. Admittedly, I acknowledge the fact that many people might say that there is a loss of local culture from globalisation. However, this is a minor inconvenience which originates more from mass media. In conclusion, I firmly believe that globalisation is a positive development for a country because it allows its citizens to explore more of the outer world while staying in their home. It also allows the country to boost its economy because of many imported goods in which the government puts taxes.