Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Crime is regarded as a global issue and many countries are developing & implementing the policies to resolve this particular problem. Governments have decided the fixed punishments for the types of each crime. Many individuals claim that while deciding sentences of any corruption, judge should consider the criminal’s motivation and condition. It is important to regard that in the books of Law, crime is simply a law breaking activity and whoever broke the rule, should be punished. Firstly, fixed sentence brings equality in a society. This is to say that, whoever committing the law breaking activity will know that the court will not be considering his situation while giving judgement. For instance, if a person heist the bank, the court will not be giving regard to his situation of poverty or what motivated him to commit such law-breaking activity. Secondly, this can also help a country to reduce the criminal rate. This is to say that, if the government has approved the charge which is not tolerable by criminals, they may try to avoid such activities. To illustrate, In Saudi Arabia, the government has decided to cut the hand of a person who steal anything. So, stealing rate in Saudi Arabia is low compared to other countries. Therefore, it is for these profound reasons, some individuals argue to make a law of punishment. On the contrary, others claim and ask the court to consider the circumstances of the criminal. This is because they think that the situation of the person that made him to break the rule of the state. To illustrate, an individual who belongs to a poor family snatched mobile in order to take money at home. So, in this condition, low income allowed him to perform such act. To conclude, in my opinion, states should decide the fixed punishments for each kind of corruption. This will bring stability & equality in the country.