Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

What to study at university has attracted different opinions. While some people argue that students can study subjects of their choice, other think that universities should only offer certain key subject areas. I personally believe that everyone should be able to choose their areas of study. There are various reasons why people believe that students should be forced to study subjects that will be useful in the future. They might assert that the subjects like science and technology have been among the core fields of the development of the world. For example, the healthcare sector always needs scientific research to figure new methods and medicine to cure diseases and help people live more healthily. Additionally, since the world will focus more on science and technology in the future, there will be more job opportunities in these sectors. Thus, it is easier for those who take these courses to have greater career prospects. However, from personal perspectives, students should have freedom to pick the majors of their choice. It is because everyone has their own dream careers and they should choose the course that benefits their future profession. To be precise, it is better for those who want to be a teacher to study pedagogy rather than IT. Furthermore, students feel more motivated when studying what they are fond of. Passions are of importance to succeed in life. Therefore, it is vital to pursue education with enthusiasm and success will eventually follow. Lastly, every subject can contribute visibly to society which is created by various areas, including social sciences and arts, besides science and technology. If doctors save patients’ lives, painters enrich people’s mind and heart through their paintings and they are equally significant. To conclude, there are several certain advantages of studying certain key subjects like science and technology. However, it is still better if students follow their passion and study what they are interested in. By doing that, they can both become successful in their life and contribute to the society.