In many developing countries, there is a problem with declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measures could be taken to prevent this?

Both air and water quality are getting worse in plenty of developing countries due to factories plants and construction sites. In order to mitigate this problem possible solutions are investments in clean energy and more rigorous inspections by the government on both industry and construction sectors. Firstly, some kind of incentive by the government should be given to a factory or construction site which has invested in clean energy. For instance, lower taxation should be applied the factories which installed and are using their own solar panels. Because, these factories are not consuming electrical energy from the grid that might have a not clean source. In a similar way, some kind of incentive should be given to construction sites that are recycling their water. Since, they are not only avoiding polluting the water system, but also giving a new use for an important resource. In addition, regular inspections of sewer and chimney systems should be done by the government on factories and construction sites, looking for irregularities. Since, it is not uncommon to have factories which do not comply with environmental rules in order to save money. For example, for maximizing their profits factories might not invest in an air filter for their chimney. Besides, doing proper water and air treatment is complex and time consuming. Therefore, being much easier to construction sites to discard toxic water on city's sewer. In conclusion, an effort should be made by the government in order to mitigate air and water contamination by industry and construction. This effort should be not only stimulating factory plants and construction sites on using clean resources, but also by proper inspecting these places looking for irregularities.