Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough?

Food demand experience a surge in the world. This essay will address the increasing number of the global population as a principal cause of this issue, and provides agricultural and modern farming strategies as approaches which can be taken to deal with this problem. One reason clarifying why global demand for food witnesses significant rise in recent decades is the ever increasing population. This is mainly caused by lack of government commitments to reduce the birth rates. Indonesia, for instance, experiences a drastic incline of the population to more than a fourth of million in 2020. In contrast, this is not coupled with an advancement in the agricultural sector, in which the primary source of national food derives from. As a result, the government has to import various comestible products from other nations such as Thailand, and this eventually affects the global growth of food demand. To overcome this issue, there are two measurements can be applied by international communities. First of all, the countries with low agricultural productivities are supposed to have effective agricultural strategies, such as converting vacant lands and grasslands to the agricultural production areas. Thus, the countries are able to increase their crop productions and meet national needs. Secondly, employing modern farming strategies such as indoor vertical farming. This newly agricultural method can cultivate crop all the year as it does not depend on the environment such as the sun, and it uses artificial light to plant the crops. Therefore, crops can be cultivated continuously, and the supply of food is sufficient for the global citizen. To sum up, I believe any ideas that can improve agricultural productions is worth trying. However, I also think that vertical farming is more advantageous since it has a less negative impact on the degradation of the environment.