Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of the social concerns today relates to university education. While it is commonly thought that the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs, others believe it brings wider benefits for both individuals and society. I’m going to discuss these opposing points of view. In my opinion, college education has a lot of advantages for the graduates and society. On the one hand, it is argued that the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Firstly, they have a lot of knowledge and more opportunities at work. It is also possible to say that it is easy for them to find jobs that match their qualifications. Secondly, graduates can have many promotion opportunities to higher positions such as team leaders or managers. For example, many CEOs say that they often promote those who graduate from university because they believe these graduates can have enough knowledge and skills. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that university education brings wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. People often have this opinion because knowledge will help people think well and contribute to the development of society. A second point is that after graduation, a student often has a wide social network which can help him or her a lot in the future working life. For example, my friend has just started a company and most of his clients are his classmates at university. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that the aim of a university education is to help graduates get better jobs, meanwhile, others assume that it offers wider benefits of a university education for both individuals and society. Personally, I tend to believe that learning at university can help students gain a lot of benefits, not only jobs.