People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that hours of doing a job should be limited as doing longer shifts put strain on workers, their family and the community. This essay totally agrees with this viewpoint because working longer can reduce the capability of the employees and they cannot spend quality time with the loved ones. Working more hours can limit the productivity of the worker. Jobs which involve a lot of physical work such as of construction workers requires them to have optimum energy to carry out the task. If these workers do longer shift, they would not have the required amount of energy after some time. An adequate amount of rest is necessary for them to do their job effectively. For example, according to a research published by Oxford University, it was found that employees who worked more hours completed their work less efficiently than jobholders who did not. Additionally, working longer can reduce the amount of quality time that can be spent with the family. An employee, who does a 12 hour shift at a job will not have any energy to engage with the family. It can limit the communication with the family members and thus can cause a negative impact on the family. For instance, a survey conducted by The Hindustan Times found that workers who spent less time at work were having significantly good relations with their family members than other employees. In conclusion, employees who do work for more hours are less productive and are unable to share their valuable time with their loved ones.