It is increasingly expensive to keep museums open to public. What do you think is the best way to fund them? (the government, businesses or individuals?)

In recent years, museums have become increasingly important in the citizens’ culture lives all around the world. However, the cost of running them for the public is actually exorbitant. This essay will demonstrate that governments have more advantages in terms of funding museums than businesses and individuals. To begin with, it is true that the authorities have the ability to subsidize the large museums and help them to lower their expenditure spent opening for the public. Actually, governments possess plenty of revenues by taxing their citizens, so they can budget a lot of money to pay the staff of museums and cut back on the entry fees, which make the museums more accessible to both tourists and local residents. For instance, the Folk Museum of Yanbian Korea Minority, in Yanji city, is a successful case. It has been a famous tourist destination because of the subsidy from the local council, and it has no fiscal deficit at present. Admittedly, government fundings play a significant role in reducing the cost of merchandising the large museums. Nevertheless, this also gives the authorities a heavy burden. Therefore, governments can also make the most of their higher prestige than entrepreneurs and celebrities to launch online donations or volunteering project, raising the folk fundings or recruiting some volunteers for smaller museums such as art galleries. These auxiliary measures not only contribute to cutbacks of galleries’ running costs but also relieve the extra financial burden of the authorities. Finally, although corporations and individuals cannot sponsor museums with huge money, there are some efforts they are able to make. For example, companies can rent a spare space of certain gallery to promote their offerings related to arts like some new books or luxury bags. Besides, an artist could choose a gallery as the venue to hold his or her own exhibition there. Consequently, theses efforts are likely to absorb many visitors of galleries and in return augment their revenue. In conclusion, governments have the obligation to help museums to address their budget deficits and maintain them to open for the public. However, businesses and individuals can also make efforts to relieve governments’ burdens of funding museums and galleries.