2. In many countries, people are living in a “throwaway society” where things are used for a short time and thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

There is little doubt about how vital it is for people to adopt a healthy lifestyle, but there are conflicting views as to who should be responsible for its promotion and enforcement. Although some believe that the government should shoulder this responsibility, others, myself included, think it should be every individual’s duty. People themselves benefit primarily in their personal lives from eating healthily and taking more exercise. It allows them to remain healthy, avoid different illnesses like heart disease and arthritis, and enjoy increased longevity. Living healthily also allows them to be more active in the society and at work because they are more likely to feel energised and refreshed throughout the day. Consequently, they can focus more on their social and professional efforts, which could significantly increase their social and work status. Therefore, it seems logical to hold every individual responsible for adopting a healthy lifestyle. Some argue that governments should enforce a healthy lifestyle because they have the means to raise awareness through the educational system and introduce relevant regulations obliging their citizens to make the necessary changes in their way of life. However, most adults tend to change and adjust their lifestyle according to their experiences and desires after leaving school, forgetting most, if not all, of what they have been taught. Furthermore, it would be unwise for authorities to meddle in people’s private lives and have them conform to any regulation that affect their personal lives. In conclusion, I believe that individuals ought to bear the responsibility of following and promoting a healthy way of life since they can enjoy th