The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Please agree or disagree?

The increasing volume of e-commerce will one day end up shutting down all the brick and mortar shops in the city and town. I strongly believe in this because of the variety of advantages that the online retail offers. Online shopping offers huge varieties of products and brands at various prices and qualities. For example, when buying clothing thousands of designs can be explored before making the purchase at the comfort of ones home just by scrolling and clicking through a few pages on the internet. On the other hand when going to a shop people may not be able to explore as many designs and brands as they can in online shopping in short time. People can order products to be delivered to their home instead of having to drive to different shops which can often be time consuming. Many online retail sites take returns of products if they are found to be faulty or if the customer is not satisfied with the quality of the product. Although few giant retail shops offer such services many smaller retail shops do not take returns of products ones they are sold. This limitation will make those shops less favourable for the customers. Moreover, the pricing advantage that the online retail shops offer will be unbeatable by the retail shops because of the sheer volume and customer base of the online e-commerce sites. Because millions of people choose to buy from online retail sites these companies will be able to offer different products at considerable discounts compared to brick and mortar shops where only few customers visit and even fewer buy products from them. Some e-commerce sites provide options to order products in bulk quantities, hence further reducing the pricing of the products. Since online retail has become very competitive different online shopping sites cut down prices based on their competitors pricing to stay ahead in the business. In conclusion, shops are going to find it impossible to compete with the sales volume, pricing and customer base of online retail sites. Many advantages that online shopping offers to its customers will one day lead to all the shops in many places closing.