People are surrounded by advertisement which has an increase affect on our lives. Do you think the positive effects of this outweigh the negative?

Nowadays, our environment is heavily encapsulated with different forms of advertisements, and this is having an enormous impact on our lives. It is important to consider if the benefits of these effects outweigh its disadvantages. In my opinion, there are more drawbacks from the outcomes of advertisements. To some scholars, advertisement has positive influences on society. They assert that advertising, which is a key part of modern business, helps create jobs, and it also has increased the standard of living as it improves the economy. For example, it is estimated that advertisement contributes about 2% to the Nigerian GDP and employs about 100 thousand people. In their view, without advertising, there would be a higher unemployment rate. However, I believe that in spite of these positive views, there are more negative effects of advertisements. One of such is that advertisers focus usually on selling brands with considerations of the impact such brand have on people. Take for instance the consequences tobacco has on people’s health. Despite it being the most important risk factor for cancer, which is the most prevalent health burden in advance countries, advertising companies still go ahead to promote it because it is marketable. Furthermore, the persuasive nature of the industry makes it easier to influence minors who might not have the ability to make informed choices. As a result, if this impact is not curbed, our children might be at the mercy of what advertising agencies put out. To recapitulate, although experts believe that advertisement industry helps the economy, there seems to be loss of moral in it, and there are increasingly influencing teens in a more negative way that positive