The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Out of the multiple factors by which tourism has shaped the new world, giving English language the grade of an international language, is the most noticeable one. Some people believe that, thus would leave English as the sole language to be spoken worldwide. In this essay, I would address some of the benefits and drawbacks of this change. On one hand, it is the presence of only one language globally, which brings the advantage of uniformity. This means that, this world could get rid of the concept of one language being superior to the other. Thus, people would be able to live in peace without the need to fight for their own language. For example, when people from countries other than Britain and U.S.A, where English is the native language, come in contact with the people of other languages, creates the feeling of insecurity among them. This leads to increasing international tension. Moreover, this idea of promoting the same language around the world, would also help people with easy communication and understanding one another. On the other hand, if the world is made to deprive of different languages, this would have the drawback of ending the cultural variety. Because, language is not only the representation of the beautiful cultures from across the globe, but it is also the identification of an individual person. For instance, Sanskrit and Persian are two of the oldest languages which represent major civilizations. However, by promoting just one language, this rich source of heritage is killed and buried leaving a monotonous world behind. To conclude, although solely speaking one language like English does provide the promising opportunity to make this world a peaceful place by avoiding conflicts. On the other side, this has the negative impact of losing the versatility of traditions of the world.