Computers are becoming an essential part of school lessons. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

At the present time, computers have become an indispensable teaching tool in schools across the globe. This essay will focus on the advantages and disadvantages of this gift of technology to mankind and as far as my opinion is concerned, computers should be mandatory in every education field in order to make the individuals use the latest technology to learn and grow. On one hand, the major plus point of learning through a computer is that it facilitates audio-visual learning that facilitates much better understanding instead of doing it through books and a blackboard. It provides narration through recorded tapes on each topic in any subject by illustrating it through diagrams, charts and graphs which have proved to be an effective way to teach as students find it interesting and a fun way to learn. For instance, many studies in the UK have shown that a greater number of students are inclined towards learning by using smart boards rather than the traditional way because it helped them to retain their basic concepts for a longer period and with higher clarity. Therefore, computers are essential equipment which needs to be installed in every school. One the other hand, using computers for studies does take a toll on their health as well and serves as a major drawback. Students who are taking up computer lessons in school get habituated to them and they would naturally start using it at home too. As a result, excessive work on the computer can be harmful to the eyes and may result in weak eyesight which further could be a cause of development of migraine and other issues like dry eyes and blurred vision. Furthermore, teenagers often misuse the freedom of the internet which was supposed to be used for educational purposes only. They get distracted with online games, texting, Social Media and even could get involved in watching pornographic content. For instance, if a child does any other task alongside studying, then he might end up wasting a lot of time resulting in lower scores. Thus, the usage must not be left unattended or it may harm their academia. In conclusion, although the usage of modern learning methods seems intimidating, the disadvantages of such technological marvels clearly outweigh the advantages.